segunda-feira, 18 de janeiro de 2010

My life (part I)

Yes, part I, because I realized that if I tell you guys everything that has happened to me just in one post you would fall as sleep! hahahaha.
My name is Helena, I’m 21 years old and I’m from Brazil.
Before the ED I dare say that I had the perfect life. I had amazing friends which I saw every weekend, we used to go out a lot and have fun. Everybody who knew me back then described me as a fun, independent, intelligent, sarcastic girl, with a good sense of humor and who would never end up with such stupid disease like this, because of my strong personality.
The thing is that one day a person made a comment about my weight (a person that I really despise and dislike), so, to prove her wrong I decided to lose a few pounds... Well, I don’t even have to say how things ended up right? The few pounds became 20kg (44lbs) and all the suddenly I became anorexic. I was eating 200 calories a day and exercising a lot. I always told my friends about my concerns about my weight, but the thing is that I always made fun of myself, so, I guess in a way they didn’t take me 100% seriously; sometimes when we were having a party and had to go grocery shopping, I used make stupid calories jokes while they were buying food; I used to take away from them every junk (or regular) food saying: “Look, look how many calories are in this stuff! No, no, let’s buy some letuce...” hahahaha. They looked at me mad (but laughing too) saying: “Helena, shut up. Go buy your letuce and we’re gonna buy some chips”. They saw me lose all that weight and they didn't discourage me, of course they didn't approve, but for them I was ok, 'cause I was always laughing and making jokes about it. Even they made fun of me, comparing me to sticks and always making jokes about me being too thin, and the worst part is that I felt flattered...

___________________________________________________


Anyway back to the present, last week only didn't suck more because didn't have more days... Seriously I'm right now so depressed about the things that I've done, I even consider drink the whole bottle of pills to get an overdose to not wake up the next day, but that wouldn't be the right thing to do and honestly, I don't wanna be a coward. I wanna get out of this life with my head up and no regrets; the only reason that I could possibly think for me to take my life would be if I was truly hopeless, but I'm not, I still believe that I can change things! As long as I have this feeling with me, I'll keep breathing and trying. I'll not give up only because things got harder, nobody said it would be easy.

I hope next week I have some good news to tell you guys =/









"The world ain't all sunshine and rainbows. It's a very mean and nasty place and I don't care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get it and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That's how winning is done!"

sábado, 9 de janeiro de 2010

As Salvage Caballo's journal used to say: “Why do we fall? So that we can learn to pick ourselves up”

Hello girls.

So 2010 right? You know what happened to all those promises that I made to myself? I failed! BIG!
These last two weeks were awful, I mean truly awful! I guess I probably gained all the weight I lost back... no kidding! Obviously I didn’t had the courage to weigh myself, otherwise I’d probably commit suicide.
I’ve been binging and purging a lot. My throat hurts so much right now and I’m so ashamed of my behaviour. Every single time that I’m doing ok, I screw things up. Sometimes (almost all the time) I wonder if I’ll be able to make it through, if I’ll be the winner of this marathon... but I must say... that’s very unlikely.
I wish I had good news to share with you guys, but unfortunately that’s not the case. But I’m not ready to throw in the towel! If I can breathe, I might as well keep on trying. I can’t let this negative attitude take over me. Baby steps (right Emily?). 2010 will NOT be like 2009! I won’t let it happen! This is my year and has barely begun, so I have plenty of time to change things and enjoy this life that has been given to me.
My new year’s was kind of funny, I didn’t go out, I was home drinking a whole bottle of vodka and chatting with a friend of mine on msn and man... it was SO funny! We laughed so much with our stupid drunk conversation.
And I wanna live for moments like these, I wanna laugh, hug the people I love and dance without feeling this weight over my shoulders.
A new week is about to start, so, let’s change too. It’s only food, not love. Our love and passion are out there, waiting for us! The world can be ours; so, let’s go and participate in it and not just being part of the audience.
Next time I come here, I'll tell more about myself, how I ended up with and eating disorder and how my life was back then and how things are today.
Hope you girls have an amazing sunday!






"Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it."